A new state law mandates that effective Spring 2012, all new college students under the age of 30 must get a bacterial meningitis vaccination 10 days before the semester. The law is a response to outbreaks of meningitis at Texas universities, which resulted in the death or near-death of students.
New college students must provide proof of receiving the vaccine to Collin College or file for an exemption. Students are not be required to get the vaccination if they are 30 years of age or older by the first day of the start of the semester; taking online or other distance education courses only; enrolled in a continuing education course or program that is less than 360 hours or continuing education corporate training; enrolled in a dual credit course which is taught at a public or private K-12 facility not located on a Collin College campus; or incarcerated in a Texas prison.
The Texas Department of State Health Services (TDSHS) allows exemptions from the immunization requirement based on reasons of conscience, including but not limited to religious beliefs, and active duty with the United States armed forces. Visit the TDSHS immunization webpage at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/immunize/school/default.shtm#exclusions for exemption instructions.
To facilitate the vaccination process, Collin College is partnering with the Collin County Health Department to offer onsite meningitis vaccination clinics from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on:
• Monday, Dec. 12 at the Spring Creek Campus Atrium near the John Anthony Theatre
• Tuesday, Dec. 13 at the Preston Ridge Campus Founders Hall, Room 141
• Thursday, Dec. 15 at the Central Park Campus Conference Center, Section A
Students can fax vaccine or booster documentation to 1.972.548.6702 or 972.377.1792. For additional information about meningitis, exceptions or exemptions, call 972.599.3150, email firstname.lastname@example.org or visit www.collin.edu/meningitis .